Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

crown of midnight

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Year Published: 2013

My Rating:★★★★1/2

I thoroughly enjoyed the second book in this series! It was very refreshing to see the characters interact with one another outside the limits that the competition in the previous novel had. At times, I admit, it was a bit slow, but the last chapters really sped up the book for me and helped it end on a fantastic note.

There are some things to mention, despite the high amount of stars being given. At first, I felt as though Celaena and Chaol’s relationship was being forced so as to oppose anything she and Dorian previously had, and it kind of annoyed me to have a love triangle. But I, the naive reader, fell for it and now think that Chaol and Celaena are probably better off than if she were to be with Dorian. Also, *spoiler alert* I felt as though the death of that character…(you know who)…was not as impactful to me as it should have been. I wish I had seen more of their relationship, beyond what was going on with all the magic and mystery they were trying to solve in the castle. Also, I feel like the book dragged on for a bit. Then again, it might have just been me in my reading slump.

The cliffhanger itself was perfect to lead into the next novel. It left so much for wanting; wanting to know who Celaena really is and what it means for her, and now others, to know an important piece of her past. I was going to take a break from the series and read something else before continuing on with Heir of Fire, but after the ending of this one, I just had to keep reading on.

Overall, a great sequel to Throne of Glass.

Find this book elsewhere: Goodreads Amazon Book Depository

Leave a Reply

