Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

heir of fire

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Year Published: 2014

My Rating:★★★★★

This book got me out of a reading slump, and it takes a LOT to get me out of a reading slump.

It was slow at first, especially since this book has more world building in it. I know it takes time to create that, but once I was used to all of the new characters and the new settings, I was immersed.

The one character I had a hard time immersing myself in was Manon, but I expect that’s because she is completely new and has her own story running alongside Celaena/Rowan and Chaol/Dorian. I began to appreciate her chapters more as the book went on, especially as we began to see that perhaps she is not like the other witches in her clan,and the promise of seeing her future internal fight with that possibility. I can’t wait to see what happens when she meets the other characters.

I also loved the dynamic that Celaena and Rowan built over the course of the book. At first, I did not really like Rowan because he seemed to disregard who Celaena was and the possibility that she has gone through multiple tragedies. However, as time went on their friendship began to grow, and Rowan began to open up to her more, and at that point I began to like Rowan. I love that their relationship is not romantic and that it is just a really strong friendship that has the potential to build with every moment and every battle that they fight through together.

Chaol’s character didn’t seem to build as much in this novel, as I felt that every moment of importance that happened with him in Heir of Fire was just a means of getting to what Aedion was doing. This, of course, is very important to the plot arc, but I didn’t see Chaol grow too much. He misses Celaena, and is trying to figure out what to about about Dorian, and all the while chasing after and working with Aedion (who takes up a lot of the interest in Chaol’s chapters). I feel as though this book was just him meeting one problem after another, but not personally growing in any way. I still love him as a character, but I am a bit anxious to see what his specific story will pan out to be once he sees Celaena again.

It was really great to begin to see the power that Dorian holds begin to unfold in this book, not to mention the beautiful but tragic relationship he had with Sorcha. The cliffhanger for his character fills me with anxiety, and I cannot wait to see what happens to him in the following books. I do feel as though he took finding out that he has magic a bit more calmly then most sons of evil kings who hate magic would have, but I think those moments were still okay because he had other things to worry about besides confronting the fact that he has magic AKA dealing with the uncontrollable magic within him. I can definitely see his story and his character getting darker as time goes on, especially with what happened to Sorscha and everything that his father has/will put him through.

Overall, the writing of this book was fantastic, as were the characters and the continuing development of this story and the world it is built in. If you’re intimidated to start this book because of its size, don’t be, because the story itself will carry you through it easily.

Find this book elsewhere: Goodreads Amazon Book Depository

Leave a Reply

