Book Review: Whiskey Words & a Shovel II by r.h. Sin

whiskey.jpg

Genre: Poetry

Year Published: 2016

My Rating:★☆☆☆☆

This review is a short one, folks. You’ll see why as you read on.

This poetry collection, which I was SO excited for, was way over-hyped. I found it to have the following things, and more, that really irked me to the point of no return: preach-y to women (when the author is a man), likes to romanticize depression and the aftermath of abusive relationships, compares a woman’s sex to a winter jacket, continously says he’s a better man than any other man the women he’s speaking to has been with, and is filled to the brim with over-used themes and contantly eye-rolling cliches.

OH and out of the 150+ poems in here? I only liked 5 or 6 of them. OUT OF OVER 150 poems. Man. I definitely don’t think I’ll be reading any more of this author’s work, which makes me upset because I was looking forward to enjoying his work. Alas, no cigar. Hopefully I’ll be diving into some better poetry soon.

Alright, that’s enough griping of this book. I think I’m just going to leave this review at that.

Find this book elsewhere: Goodreads Amazon Book Depository

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Whiskey Words & a Shovel II by r.h. Sin

Leave a Reply

